The First Annual Katerva Conference on Innovation in Sustainability

Wed, 07 Mar 2012 08:30 - 16:00 JST

United Nations University, Tokyo, U. Thant Lecture Hall

5–53–70 Jingumae, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo 150-8925 Japan


Registration is closed

Get invited to future events

¥6,500 prepaid / ¥7,000 at the door
For Bank transfer: Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation Branch: 本店営業部-Head Office (200) Account: Ordinary, 2324792 フアイブプラネツツ(シヤ


Schedule of the event (Subject to change)

Japanese translation follows

8:30                         Doors open

9:00                         Welcome from host Kenneth Cukier, Tokyo Correspondent, The Economist

9:05                        Message from the Prime Minister of Japan

9:10             Opening Remarks – Chair of Katerva Japan Steering Committee    and Chief Development Officer Patricia Bader-Johnston

9:12              Conversation with Katerva Founder / author, Terry Waghorn and    William Saito, Entrepreneur / author

9:20                        Presenting: the 2011 Most Innovative Ideas!

*       Barefoot Power, Rick Hooper, CEO

*       Nissan Leaf (tbc)

*       Sanergy, David Auerbach, CEO

*       Solarclave, Anna Young, Founder

*       The China Study, Mamiko Matsuda, Translator

10:35                         Video overview of more Katerva Award winning projects

10:50            Davos Report on Innovation in Sustainability - Kubo Keiichi, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu LLC

11:05             Special Katerva Report on Innovation and Sustainability - Jim Taylor, The Harrison Group

11:20              “From Social Norm to Social Reality: The Tipping Point Trends Driving Sustainability    Mainstream” - Dominic Harrison, Head of Global Trends, Future Foundation

11:35                        Hiroki Kondo, Principal Scientist Global warming Research Project for IPCC AR5

Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology  (JAMSTEC)

11:50                        Remarks by Her Imperial Highness Princess Takamado

11:55                         Remarks by US Ambassador John V. Roos (tbc)


12:00                        Networking Lunch


1:00                        Panel 1: Facing Facts: “Implications for 2049”

*       Jim Taylor, Harrison Group

*       Dominic Harrison, Head of Global Trends, Future Foundation

*       Kubo, Keiichi, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu LLC

*       Hiroki Kondo, Principal Scientist (GWRP for IPCC AR5), JAMSTEC

1:45            Panel 2:  “The Role of Innovation in Achieving a Sustainable Future for Japan and How Can Policy-makers and Governments Enable Innovation?

*       Jakob Eckberg, Managing Director GR Japan

*       The Hon. Mieko Nakabayashi, Member of the House of Representatives for Kanagawa (tbc)

*       Local government official (tbc)


2:30                        Business Leaders Panel: “Integrating innovation – What Will it Take for Business/Society to Change?”

*       Hitachi, Keiichi Ushijima, CSR Strategy Division

  Brooks Herring, Vice President Communications and Operations, Solar Frontier

  Eduardo Fukui, Managing Director, Clean Green Partners Ltd(tbc)

Ernst & Young Shinnihon Japan (tbc)

3:30                         Katerva Awards for Sustainability in Innovation Award Ceremony

3:45                          Closing Comments

3:50                          Close




Innovation in Sustainability



8:30 開場

9:00 歓迎の挨拶 司会エコノミスト東京特派員ケネス・クキエ氏

9:05メッセージ 内閣総理大臣野田佳彦氏

9:10開会の挨拶 日本運営委員長およびカテルヴァ開発部長 パトリシア・ベーダ=ジョンストン氏

9:12カテルヴァ創設者/作家 テリー・ワグホーン氏と企業家/作家 ウィリアム・齋藤氏による談話


*       Barefoot Power代表取締役 リック・フーパー氏

*       日産リーフ (tbc)

*       Sanergy代表取締役 デービッド・オーバック氏

*       Solarclave創設者 アンナ・ヤング氏

*       『The China Study』(邦訳『葬られた「第二のマクガバン報告」』)日本語版翻訳者 松田麻美子氏 

 10:35 カテルヴァ賞受賞プロジェクト(その他:映像)


11:05 カテルヴァスペシャルレポート(サスティナビリティにおける革新的技術について)   ジム・テイラー氏The Harrison Group

11:20  社会規範から社会的現実へ:サスティナビリティ主流傾向への転換点 ドミニク・ハーゲン氏 Future Foundation Global Trends部門主任

11:35海洋研究開発機構 IPCC貢献地球環境予測プロジェクト 特任上席研究員 近藤洋輝氏



11:55             アメリカ大使ジョン・ルース氏より挨拶





*       ジム・テイラー氏 Harrison Group

*       ドミニク・ハーゲン氏Future Foundation Global Trends部門主任

*       久保惠一氏デロイトトウシュトーマツリミテッド

*       近藤洋輝氏 IPCCプロジェクト特任上席研究員 JAMSTEC


*       ジェイコブ・エクバーグ氏  GR Japan代表取締役

*       中林美恵子氏神奈川第一区選出・衆議院議員 

*       善養寺幸子株式会社エコエナジーラボ代表取締役(ソーシャルシステムクリエーター) eco japan cup運営事務局長

2:30ビジネスリーダーによるパネルディスカッション:「革新統合 – ビジネス/社会にとっての変化に必要なものとは?」

*       牛島慶一 氏日立製作所 CSR本部部長代理 

*       ブルックス・ヘリング氏ソーラーフロンティア株式会社通信営業専務取締役

*       エドワード福井氏クリーングリーンパートナーズ代表取締役

*       アーンスト・アンド・ヤング新日本有限責任監査法人(tbc)


3:30 カテルヴァ革新的サスティナビリティ技術賞受賞セレモニー

3:45  閉会の挨拶:カナダ大使(tbc)

3:50  閉会



About this community



The Katerva Awards are the pinnacle of global sustainability recognition. Through them, the best ideas on the planet are identified, refined and accelerated toward impact at a global level. (See ww...

Join community